Fitzgerald House is a finely proportioned detached three-bay two-storey overbasement late Georgian c 1810-1820 building on Summerhill North, and is headquarters to Cork’s Chamber of Commerce. The 200 year old house has been beautifully restored in the past couple of years and visitors who enter through the wrought-iron entrance screen, can admire the ionic door-case and decorative fanlight.
Period features include Georgian ionic door-case and decorative fanlight, panel sash windows throughout, continuous self-supporting staircase,interior paneled doors, white marble fireplaces, original cornicing and slatehipped roof with wide overhanging eaves, typical of its time. Fitzgerald House, formerly known as ‘Carrigbeg’ was privately owned by Richard B. Tivy up until 1942, after which Séamus Fitzgerald and his family purchased the house and lived there until 1972. Four Taoisigh were entertained in the house by the family, including De Valera, Lemass, Costello and Jack Lynch.
Cork Chamber of Commerce purchased the building from Séamus Fitzgerald and the building was renamed ‘Fitzgerald House’ in his honour.Cork Chamber’s offices have operated out of the building since 1974. But Séamus Fitzgerald still lives on in the house…. A fine bronze bust of Séamus,sculpted by the famous Cork stonemason, Séamus Murphy and on loan from the Fitzgerald family, resides in the entrance hall. The recent, sympathetic and quality restoration by its current owners, Cork Chamber, ensures a new lease of life for this venerable house for many decades to come.
Situated on a prominent site visible from the city below and set within its own grounds, visitors can enjoy the exclusive views of Kent Railway Stationfrom the ground and first floor windows of the house.